Health Care Research Training (HCRT) Study Section Members

October 8, 2014

Roster of members of the study section which reviews research training and career development grants.

Chairperson

Madigan, Elizabeth, PhD, RN, FAAN  (2016)
Associate Dean for Academic Affairs and Independence Foundation Professor
Case Western Reserve University
Bolton School of Nursing
10900 Euclid Ave
Cleveland, OH  44106
Tel:  (216) 368-8532
Fax: (216) 368-3542
Elizabeth.madigan@case.edu

Members

Bayliss, Elizabeth, MD, MSPH  (2015)
Clinician Investigator
Kaiser Permanente, Institute for Health Research
Associate Clinical Professor, Family Medicine, UCDHSC
10065 E. Harvard Ave., Suite 300
Denver, CO  80231
Tel: (303) 614-1328
Off: (303) 859-9266
Fax: (303) 614-1285
Elizabeth.bayliss@kp.org

Copeland, Valire, MPH, PhD  (2016)
Associate Professor
Doctoral Program Director
School of Social Work
University of Pittsburgh
2228 Cathedral of Learning
Pittsburgh, PA 15260
Tel: (412) 624-6324
Cell: (412) 867-0350
Fax: (412) 624-6323
ssvvcc@pitt.edu

Galt, Kimberly A., PharmD (2015)
Associate Dean for Research
Creighton University
School of Pharmacy and Health Professions
2500 California Plaza
Omaha, NE  68178
Tel: (402) 280-4259
Fax: (402) 280-4809
kgalt@creighton.edu

Greenberg, Caprice C., MD, MPH (2015)
Associate Professor
Department of Surgery
University of Wisconsin Hospital and Clinics
600 Highland Avenue H4/742
Madison, WI  53792
Tel:  (608) 263-5852
Fax: (608) 263-7645
greenberg@surgery.wisc.edu

Hsu, John, MD, MBA, MSCE  (2015)
Associate Professor of Medicine
Director
Clinical Economics and Policy Analysis Group
Mongan Institute for Health Policy
Massachusetts General Hospital
50 Staniford Street, 9th Floor
Boston, MA  02114
Tel: (617) 643-7767
Home: (617) 784-5789
Fax: (617) 724-4738
jhsu2000@gmail.com
jhsu7@partners.org

Jordan, Neil, PhD, MS  (2016) 
Associate Professor
Department of Psychiatry & Behavioral Sciences
Northwestern University
Abbott Hall
710 North Lake Shore Drive, Suite 904
Chicago, IL  60611
Tel:  (312) 503-6137
Fax: (312) 503-1259
Neil-jordan@northwestern.edu

Kelly, Kimberly, PhD, MS  (2016) 
Associate Professor
School of Pharmacy
Mary Babb Randolph Cancer Center
West Virginia University
HSC PO Box 9510
Morgantown, WV 26506
Tel: (304) 293-1453
Fax: (304) 293-2529
kmkelly@hsc.wvu.edu

Laurence, Brian Edward, DDS, PhD  (2016)
Associate Professor
Howard University
College of Dentistry
600 W Street, NW
Washington, D.C.  20059
Tel: (202) 806-0420
Fax: (202) 806-0354
blaurence@howard.edu

Mullins, Daniel, PhD  (2017)
Professor
Department of Pharmaceutical Health Services Research
University of Maryland School of Pharmacy
220 Arch Street, 12th Floor
Baltimore, MD 21201
Tel: (410) 706-0879
dmullins@rx.umaryland.edu

Nemeth, Lynne, MS, PhD  (2015)
Associate Professor of Nursing
Medical University of South Carolina
99 Jonathan Lucas Street, MSC 160
Charleston, SC  29425
Tel: (843) 792-9122
Fax: (843) 792-1741
nemethl@musc.edu

Ogedegbe, Gbenga, MD, MPH  (2015)
Professor and Director
Division of Health and Behavior
Director, Center for Healthful Behavior Change
Department of Population Health
NYU School of Medicine
227 East 30th Street, 6-633
New York, NY 10016
Tel: (212) 263-4183
Cell: (646) 919-7607
Fax: (212) 263-4201
olugbenga.ogedegbe@nyumc.org

Shapiro, Jason, MD  (2014)
Associate Professor of Emergency Medicine
Department of Emergency Medicine and
Center for Biomedical Informatics
Mount Sinai Medical Center
1020 Cove Road
Mamaroneck, NY 10534
Tel: (917) 334-6233
Fax: (914) 437-5354
Jason.Shapiro@mssm.edu

Villarruel, Francisco A., PhD  (2015)
University Outreach and Engagement Senior Fellow
And Professor, Human Development and Family Studies
Michigan State University
Human Ecology Building, Rm #103
552 West Circle Drive
East Lansing, MI  48824
Tel: (517) 432-7298
Cell: (517) 290-7681
Fax: (517) 432-2953
fvilla@msu.edu

Ad Hoc Reviewers

Adler-Milstein, Julia, PhD
Assistant Professor
School of Information
Health Management and Policy,
School of Public Health
University of Michigan, Ann Arbor
4376 North Quad
105 South State Street
Ann Arbor, MI  48109
Tel: (617) 794-0047
juliaam@umich.edu

Freund, Karen, MD, MPH
Professor of Medicine
Associate Director for Research Collaboration
Institute for Clinical Research and Health Policy Studies, CTSI
Tufts Medical Center
Tufts University
800 Washington Street #63
Boston MA 02111
Tel: (617) 636-5065
karen.freund@tufts.edu
kfreund@tuftsmedicalcenter.org

Irwin, Charles Edwin Jr., MD 
Professor/Vice Chairman of Pediatrics
Division of Adolescent & Young Adult Medicine
Department of Pediatrics
School of Medicine
University of California, San Francisco
3333 California Street, Box 0503, Lh 245
San Francisco, CA 94143-0503
Tel: (415) 502-6106
charles.irwin@ucsf.edu

Kjerulff, Kristen Hawthorne, PhD 
Professor
Health Evaluation Sciences
Penn State College Of Medicine
600 Centerview Drive
PO Box 855
Hershey, PA 17033
Tel: (717) 531-7178
khk2@psu.edu

Litvin, Cara, MD, MS
Assistant Professor
Division of General Internal Medicine and Geriatrics
Department of Family Medicine
Medical University of South Carolina
5 Charleston Center, Suite 263
MSC 192
Charleston, SC 29425
Tel: (843) 876 1548
Alt Tel: (843) 876-1212
Fax: (843) 876-1211
litvincb@musc.edu

Mays, Glen P. PhD, MPH
F. Douglas Scutchfield Endowed Professor of Health Services and Systems Research
University of Kentucky
College of Public Health
121 Washington Avenue, Room 204
Lexington KY 40536
Tel: (859) 218-2029
glen.mays@uky.edu
http://works.bepress.com/glen_mays

Peters, Dawn, PhD
Associate Professor, Public Health,
GCRC Biostatistician
Department of Public Health and Preventive Medicine
Oregon Health and Science University
3181 S.W. Sam Jackson Park Road, CR-145
Portland, OR 97239
Tel: (503) 494-8528
Fax: (503) 418-0125
petersd@ohsu.edu

Schmid, Christopher H, PhD
Professor of Biostatistics
Center for Evidence Based Medicine
Brown University
121 South Main St.
Box G-S121-8
Providence, RI  02912
Tel: (401) 863-6453
christopher_schmid@brown.edu

Weech-Maldonado, Robert, MBA, PhD
Professor and L.R. Jordan Endowed Chair
Department of Health Services Administration
University of Alabama at Birmingham
1720 2nd Ave. S., SHPB 558
Birmingham, AL 35294
Tel: (205) 996-5838
Fax: (205) 975-6608
rweech@uab.edu

Wisnivesky, Juan, P., MD, DPH
Professor
Department of Medicine
Mount Sinai School of Medicine
17 East 102 Street
6th Floor West Tower, Room D6-110
New York, NY 10029-6574
Tel: (212) 824-7567
Fax: (212) 824-2317
juan.wisnivesky@mssm.edu

Scientific Review Officer

Azadegan, Ali A., DVM, PhD
Office of Extramural Research, Education, and Priority Populations
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
540 Gaither Road, Suite 2101
Rockville, MD 20850
Tel: (301) 427-1869
Fax: (301) 427-1562
Ali.Azadegan@ahrq.hhs.gov

Program Analyst

Robinson, Diana
Program Analyst
Office of Extramural Research, Education, and Priority Populations
Agency for Healthcare Research & Quality
540 Gaither Road
Room 2238
Rockville, MD 20850
Tel:  (301) 427-1014
Fax: (301) 427-1562
Diana.robinson@ahrq.hhs.gov

Current as of September 2014
Internet Citation: Health Care Research Training (HCRT) Study Section Members: October 8, 2014. September 2014. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, Rockville, MD. http://www.ahrq.gov/funding/process/study-section/hcrtrst.html