Healthcare Information Technology Research (HITR) Study Section Members

January 26, 2016
Roster of members of the study section which reviews R01/R18 large research grant applications, R03 small research grant applications, and R13 large conference grant applications on the development, application and evaluation of technologies relevant to health care.

Chairperson

Pace, Wilson, MD (2018)
Professor of Family Medicine
University of Colorado
School of Medicine
AO1, Room 3405
MS F496
12631 East 17th Avenue
Aurora, CO 80045
Phone: (303) 724-9726
Fax: (303) 724-9747
Wilson.Pace@ucdenver.edu

Members

Cole, Curtis L, MD (2017)
Chief Information Officer
Associate Professor of Clinical Medicine and Healthcare Policy and Research
Weill Cornell Medical College/Cornell University
Information Technologies and Services
1300 York Ave. LC106a
New York City, NY 10065
Phone: (212) 746-0483
Fax: (212) 746-7401
ccole@med.cornell.edu

Einstadter, Douglas, MD, MPH (2018)
Professor of Medicine, Epidemiology and Biostatistics
Department of Medicine
MetroHealth Medical Center
Case Western Reserve University
2500 Metro Health Drive
Cleveland, OH 44109
Phone: (216) 778-3902
Fax: (216) 778-3945
deinstadter@metrohealth.org

Fuller, Sherrilynne S, PhD (2018)
Professor Emeritus
Department of Biomedical Informatics and Medical Education
School of Medicine and Information School
University of Washington 35-8047
Seattle, Washington, 98195-4985
Phone: (360) 440-7341
sfuller@u.washington.edu

Gong, Yang, MD, PhD (2018)
Associate Professor
School of Biomedical Informatics 
University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston
7000 Fannin Street, Ste. 600
Houston, TX 77030
Phone: (713) 500-3547
Fax: (713) 500-3907
Yang.Gong@uth.tmc.edu

Gurses, Ayse Pinar, PhD (2019)
Armstrong Institute for Patient Safety
Department of Anesthesiology and Critical Care
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
750 East Pratt Street, 15th Floor
Baltimore, MD 21202
Phone: (410) 637-4376
Fax: (410) 637-4380
agurses1@jhmi.edu

Hagen, Michael D, MD (2018)  
Professor
Department of Family and Community Medicine University of Kentucky College of Medicine
Senior Vice President
American Board of Family Medicine
1648 McGrathiana Parkway, Suite 550
Lexington, KY 40511
Phone: (888) 995-5700
Fax: (859) 335-7501
hagen@theabfm.org

Harle, Christopher Albert, PhD (2018)
Richard M. Fairbanks School of Public Health
Indiana University
1050 Wishard Ave, RG5134
Indianapolis, IN 46202
Phone: (317) 274-5396
charle@iu.edu

Harman, Jeffrey S., PhD (2016)
Professor
Department of Behavioral Sciences & Social Medicine
College of Medicine
Florida State University
1115 West Call Street
PO Box 3064300
Tallahassee, FL 32306-4300
Phone: (850) 645-1540
Fax: (850) 645-1773
jeffrey.harman@med.fsu.edu

Huerta, Timothy R., PhD (2018)
Associate Professor
College of Medicine
The Ohio State University
2231 North High Street
Northwood and High, Rm 265
Columbus, OH 43201
Phone: (213) 793-1900
Fax: (806) 742-2308
timothy.huerta@osumc.edu

Jenders, Robert Allen, MD, MS (2016)
Professor of Medicine and Co-Director
Center of Biomedical Informatics
Charles Drew University
Professor of Medicine and Associate Director
Clinical and Translational Science Institute
University of California, Los Angeles
Los Angeles, CA 90059
Phone: (323) 249-5739
Fax: (323) 249-5726
jenders@ucla.edu

Melton-Meaux, Genevieve B, MD, PHD (2018)
Associate Professor
Chief Health Information Officer
Department of Surgery and Institute for
Health Informatics
University of Minnesota
420 Delaware Street SE; MMC 450
Minneapolis, MN 55455
Phone: (612) 625-7992
Fax: (612) 625-4406
gmelton@umn.edu

Nkoy, Flory L, MD, MS, MPH (2016)
Research Associate Professor, Pediatrics
Director of Research
Division of Inpatient Medicine
Adjunct Associate Professor, Biomedical Informatics
Primary Children's Medical Center
University Of Utah School of Medicine
100 N. Mario Capecchi Drive
Salt Lake City, UT 84113
Phone: (801) 662-3660
flory.nkoy@hsc.utah.edu

Padman, Rema, PHD (2018)
Professor of Management Science & Healthcare Informatics
Thrust Leader, Health IT Research at ILab
Research Area Director, Operations & Informatics
Center for Health Analytics
The H. John Heinz III College
Carnegie Mellon University
Adjunct Professor, Dept. of Biomedical Informatics
The University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine
Pittsburgh, PA 15213
Phone: (412) 268-2180
Fax: (412) 268-5338
rpadman@cmu.edu

Parashurama, Shriram, PhD (2018)
Senior Health Economist
National Opinion Research Center (NORC) at the University of Chicago
4350 East-West Highway 8th Floor
Bethesda, MD 20814
Phone: (312) 634-9513
parashuram-shriram@norc.org

Pasupathy, Kalyan S, PHD (2018)
Associate Professor, Mayo College of Medicine
Scientific Director, Clinical Engineering Learning Lab, Mayo Clinic
200 First Street SW, Harwick Bldg. 2-43
Rochester, MN 55905
Phone: (507) 293-2512
Fax: (507) 284-1731
pasupathy.kalyan@mayo.edu

Rangachari, Pavani, PHD (2018)  
Associate Professor
Department of Health Management & Informatics
Interim Associate Dean for Practice & Community Health
College of Allied Health Sciences
Georgia Regents University
987 St. Sebastian Way
EB-1012
Augusta, GA 30912
Phone: (706) 721-2622
Fax: (706) 721-7312
prangachari@gru.edu

Reddy, Madhu C, PhD (2018)
Professor
Health Communication
Department of Communication Studies
Center for Communication and Health
School of Communication
Northwestern University
Abbott Hall, Room 1519
710 N. Lake Shore Drive
Chicago, IL 60611
Phone: (312) 503-4423
mreddy@northwestern.edu

Savitz, Lucy Ann, PhD (2019)
Assistant Vice President, Delivery System Science
Institute for Health Leadership
Intermountain Healthcare
Research Professor Epidemiology
University of Utah School of Medicine
36 So. State Street, IHCDR 16th Floor
Salt Lake City, UT 84111
Phone: (801) 442-3049
lucy.savitz@imail.org

Sitapati, Amy Montague, MD (2018)
Clinical Professor of Medicine
Director Population Health
University of California San Diego (UCSD) 
9560 Towne Centre Drive
La Jolla, CA 92121
Phone: (619) 890-5590
Fax: (858)657-8558
asitapati@ucsd.edu

Stockwell, Melissa, MD, MPH (2019)
Associate Professor of Pediatrics and Population and Family Health
College of Physicians and Surgeons
Mailman School of Public Health
Columbia University
622 W. 168th St, VC 417
New York, NY 10032
Phone: (212) 342-5732
Fax: (212) 305-8819
mss2112@cumc.columbia.edu

Tremblay, Monica Chiarini, PHD (2017)
Chair, Associate Professor
Department of Information Systems and Business Analytics
College of Business
Florida International University
11200 SW 8 St RB250
Miami, FL 33199
Phone: (305) 348-3741
Fax: (305) 348-4126
tremblay@fiu.edu

Weiner, Mark G, MD (2018)
Professor
Department of Clinical Sciences
Temple University
School of Medicine
3509 N. Broad Street
9th Floor Boyer Pavilion
Philadelphia, PA 19104
Phone: (215) 707-3950
Fax: (215) 707-6825
mark.weiner@tuhs.temple.edu

Weiss, Eta Berner, EDD  (2016)
Professor, Health Informatics
Department of Health Services Administration School of Health Professions
University of Alabama at Birmingham
1705 University Boulevard, Rm 590J
Birmingham, AL 35294
Phone:  (205) 975-8219
Fax: (205) 975-6608
eberner@uab.edu

Scientific Review Officer

Aponte, Boris, MPH, PhD
Division of Scientific Review
Office of Extramural Research, Education and Priority Populations
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
5600 Fishers Lane
Rockville, MD 20857
(301) 427-1396
Fax: (301) 427-1562
Email: Boris.Aponte@ahrq.hhs.gov

Program Analyst

Hall, Wade A
Division of Scientific Review
Office of Extramural Research, Education and Priority Populations
Agency for Healthcare Research & Quality
5600 Fishers Lane
Rockville, MD  20857
Phone: (301) 427-1394
Fax:  (301) 427-1562
Email: Wade.Hall@ahrq.hhs.gov

Page last reviewed March 2016
Internet Citation: Healthcare Information Technology Research (HITR) Study Section Members. Content last reviewed March 2016. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, Rockville, MD. http://www.ahrq.gov/funding/process/study-section/hitrrst.html