Healthcare Safety and Quality Improvement Research (HSQR) Study Sectio

June 17-18, 2015
Roster of members of the study section which reviews R01/R18 large research grant applications, R03 small research grant applications, and R13 large conference grant applications related to healthcare safety and quality improvement research.


Wears, Robert, MD (2015)
Professor, Department of Emergency Medicine
University of Florida Health Science Center
Jacksonville, FL 32209


Patterson, Mary, MD, Ed.D. (2017)
Medical Director, Simulation Center for Safety and Reliability
Akron Children's Hospital
Akron, OH


Alexander, Gregory L, PhD, RN (2015)
Associate Professor, Sinclair School of Nursing 
University of Missouri
School of Nursing 
Columbia MO 65211 

Anderson, Lori, PhD, RN (2015)
Associate Dean for Simulated Learning Innovations
College of Nursing
Georgia Health Sciences University
Augusta, GA

Braun, Barbara, PhD (2015)
Project Director, Department of Health Services Research
The Joint Commission
Oakbrook Terrace IL 60181

Chou, Ann F., PhD, MPH (2015)
Associate Professor, Department of Health Administration and Policy
College of Public Health
University of Oklahoma
Oklahoma City, OK 73104

Evans, Charlesnika T., PhD, MPH (2016) (Federal Reviewer)
Research Health Scientist
Center for Management of Complex Chronic Care and National Center for Occupational Health and Infection Control
Department of Veterans Affairs
Hines, IL 60141

Graber, Mark, MD (2015)
Senior Fellow, Healthcare Quality and Outcomes
RTI International
St James, NY

Kelen, Gabor, MD (2016)
Professor and Chair, Department of Emergency Medicine
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
Baltimore, Maryland

Kuo, Grace M, Ph.MD, PhD (2016)
Professor of Clinical Pharmacy
Associate Dean for Academic Clinical Affairs
University of California, San Diego
Skaggs School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences
LA Jolla, CA 92093-0748

Lee, Grace, MD, MPH (2015)
Associate Professor of Population Medicine & Pediatrics
Department of Population Medicine
Harvard Pilgrim Health Care Institute and Harvard Medican School
Boston, MA 02215

Malouin, Rebecca, PhD, MPH (2015)
Director, Primary Care Research and Evaluation Program
Assistant Professor, Department of Family Medicine and Department of Pediatrics and Human Development
College of Human Medicine
Michigan State University
East Lansing, Michigan 48824

McGregor, Jessina, PhD (2018)
Associate Professor, Department of Pharmacy Practice
Oregon State University
College of Pharmacy
Portland, OR

Meier, Andreas, MD (2016)
Michael and Rissa Ratner Professor of Pediatric Surgery
Associate Professor and Chief, Division of Pediatric Surgery
General Surgery Residency Program Director and Vice Chair for Education
Dept. of Surgery
Surgeon-in-Chief, Golisano Children's Hospital
SUNY Upstate Medical University
Department of Surgery
Syracuse, NY

Ostrowsky, Belinda MD, MPH (2015)
Director of Antimicrobial Stewardship Program
Division of Infectious Diseases
Montefiore Medical Center
Bronx, NY 10467

Raab, Stephen, MD (2015)
Professor of Pathology
Department of Pathology
University of Washington
School of Medicine
Seattle, WA 98195-6100

Smith, Marie, Pharm.D. (2016)
Henry A. Palmer Professor and Assistant Dean
Pharmacy Practice and Policy Partnerships
University of Connecticut School of Pharmacy Storrs, CT

Snyder, Rita Ann, PhD, RN (2018)
Executive Associate Dean and Professor
College of Nursing
University of New Mexico Health Sciences Center
Albuquerque, NM

Wessell, Andrea M., PharmD (2016)
Research Associate Professor
Department of Family Medicine
Medical University of South Carolina
Charleston, SC 29425

Wetterneck, Tosha B., MD, MS (2018)
Associate Professor, Department of Medicine
University of Wisconsin
School of Medicine and Public Health
Madison, WI

Xiao, Yan, PhD (2015)
Director of Patient Safety Research
Office of Patient Safety
Baylor Health Care System
Dallas, TX 75206

Ad Hoc Reviewers

Ahn, Chul, PhD (2015)
Professor, Clinical Sciences
University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center
Dallas, TX

Bolin, Jane, RN, JD, PhD (2015)
Associate Professor & Director, Southwest Rural Health Research Center
Health Policy & Administration
Texas A&M Health Science Center School of Rural Public Health
College Station, TX

Chen, Hua, MD, PhD
Associate Professor, Department of Pharmaceutical Health Outcomes and Policy
University of Houston
College of Pharmacy
Texas Medical Center
Houston, Texas

Dalton, Jo Ann, MSN, EdD
Professor Emeritus, School of Nursing
Emory University
Atlanta, Georgia

Davis, Richard, MD 
Professor of Medicine
Department of Ophthalmology
University of North Carolina
Chapel Hill, NC 

Diflo, Thomas , MD
Director of Renal Transplantation
Westchester Medical Center
Valhalla, NY

Donohue, Aaron, MD
Associate Professor of Critical Care and Pediatrics
Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia
University of Pennsylvania
Philadelphia, PA 

Jones, Katherine, MSN, PhD (2015)
Adjunct Professor, Frances Payne Bolton School of Nursing
Case Western Reserve University
Emerald Isle, NC

Murray, David, MD
Professor, Department of Anesthesiology
Washington University School of Medicine
St Louis, MO

Sarrazin, Mary, PhD
Associate Professor, Department of Internal Medicine
University of Iowa
Carver College of Medicine
Iowa City, IA

Schnall, Rebecca, RN, MPH, PhD
Assistant Professor of Nursing
Columbia University
School of Nursing
New York, NY

Scott, Linda D. PhD, RN (2018)
Associate Dean for Academic Affairs
Director for Graduate Studies, PhD Studies, and Urban Health
Office of Academic Programs
University of Illinois at Chicago
College of Nursing
Chicago, IL

Sultana, Carmen, MD
Chief, Department of Obstetrics & Gynecology
Weill Cornell Medical College at New York Presbyterian Lower Manhattan Hospital
New York, NY

Wiet Gregory. MD
Professor, Departments of Otolaryngology and Biomedical Informatics
The Ohio State University
Nationwide Children’s Hospital
Columbus, OH

Wollan, Peter C., PhD
Senior Biostatistician, Research Department
Olmsted Medical Center
Rochester MN

Call-In Reviewer

Polverini, Peter J. DDS, DMSc
Professor of Dentistry
University of Michigan School of Dentistry
Professor of Pathology
University of Michigan Medical School
University of Michigan School of Dentistry
Ann Arbor, MI

Scientific Review Officer

Louden, Andrew N, PhD, MS, BA
Scientific Review Officer
Division of Scientific Review (DSR)
Office of Extramural Research Education and Priority Populations (OEREP)
Agency of Healthcare Research & Quality (AHRQ)
Rockville, MD 20850

Extramural Support Assistance

Hammond, Teresa
Program Analyst
Office of Extramural Research, Education and Priority Populations
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
540 Gaither Road, Room 2008
Rockville, MD 20850

*Temporary Member. For grant applications, temporary members may participate in the entire meeting or may review only selected applications as needed.

Consultants are required to absent themselves from the room during the review of any application if their presence would constitute or appear to constitute a conflict of interest.

Page last reviewed May 2015
Internet Citation: Healthcare Safety and Quality Improvement Research (HSQR) Study Sectio. May 2015. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, Rockville, MD.