Appendix A. Members of the Technical Expert Panel

Designing Consumer Reporting Systems for Patient Safety Events

NameTitle (at project initiation)Organization (at project initiation)TEP Activities in which Member Participated*
Steve Jencks (MD, MPH)Independent Consultant in health care safety and quality D, 1, 2, 3
Linda KenneyPresident, Executive DirectorMedically Induced Trauma Support ServicesD, 1, 2, 3, 4
Marilyn Kramer (MBA)Executive DirectorThe Partnership for Healthcare ExcellenceD, 1, 2
Timothy McDonald (MD, JD)Professor of Anesthesiology and PediatricsUniversity of Illinois College of MedicineD, 1, 2, 3
Peter Pronovost (MD, PhD, FFCM)Professor of Anesthesiology and Critical Care physicianJohns Hopkins University Schools of MedicineD
Bill Runciman (PhD)PresidentAustralian Patient Safety FoundationD
Paul Schyve (MD)Senior Vice PresidentThe Joint CommissionD, 1, 2, 3, 4
Susan SheridanPresident, Co-founderConsumers Advancing Patient Safety (CAPS)D, 1, 2, 3, 4
Tjerk van der Schaaf (PhD)Professor of Patient Safety ResearchHasselt University, Dept of Business Economics, Patient Safety GroupD, 1, 2, 3, 4
Rafael Gutierrez Vega (MD)Medical DirectorCONAMEDD, 1, 2, 3
Emma ForbesPatient Engagement LeadNational Patient Safety Agency (NPSA), U.K.D, 1, 2, 3
Nancy FosterVice President for Quality and Patient SafetyAmerican Hospital Association (AHA)D, 1, 3, 4
Rosemary Gibson (MSc)Senior Program OfficerRobert Wood Johnson FoundationD, 1, 2, 3, 4
Suzanne Graham (RN, PhD)Director of Patient SafetyKaiser PermanenteD, 1, 2, 3
Sue Gullo (MS, RN)Managing DirectorInstitute for Healthcare Safety3
Martin Hatlie (JD)CEOCoalition for Quality and Patient Safety of ChicagolandD, 1, 2, 3, 4

* D = Delphi Surveys; 1 = First TEP Meeting; 2 = Second TEP Meeting; 3 = Third TEP Meeting; 4 = Fourth TEP Meeting.

Page last reviewed October 2014
Internet Citation: Appendix A. Members of the Technical Expert Panel: Designing Consumer Reporting Systems for Patient Safety Events. October 2014. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, Rockville, MD.