Slide 8

Project RED: Module 2: The Re-Designed Discharge Process: Patient Admi

Provides a four-module training program to help hospitals implement Project RED.

Admission and Care and Treatment Education

Project Red's 11 mutually reinforcing components:

  1. Medication reconciliation
  2. Reconcile discharge plan with national guidelines
  3. Follow-up appointments
  4. Outstanding tests
  5. Post-discharge services
  6. Written discharge plan
  7. What to do if problem arises
  8. Patient education
  9. Assess patient understanding
  10. Discharge summary sent to PCP
  11. Telephone reinforcement


Let's take a look at the 11 components of the Project RED intervention. These components have been included as one of the National Quality Forum's Safe Practices. Based on the 10 principles, the 11 components are more activity focused. Consider this a checklist of activities that should occur for each patient. With the exception of 10 and 11, these should all occur before the patient leaves the hospital. The components are not listed in any specific order. We've highlighted the ones that we'll explore in Module 2; i.e., those that begin on admission and occur during the patient's stay. By the end of Module 3, we will have addressed all 11 components.

Page last reviewed August 2011
Internet Citation: Slide 8: Project RED: Module 2: The Re-Designed Discharge Process: Patient Admi. August 2011. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, Rockville, MD.