Page 1 of 1

Figure 1: Learning Model

Asthma Health Disparities Collaborative Coalition Guide

Figure 1 depicts the Learning Model. For details, go to [D] Text Description, below.

Key: FQHC=federally qualified health center; LS=learning session; PDSA=Plan, Do, Study, Act cycle.

[D] Text Description

The learning model combines pre-work, learning sessions, and action periods. A topic is selected, then an expert panel identifies change concepts and gives them to the planning group. At the same time, federally qualified health centers apply and are selected for the Collaborative. To prepare for the Collaborative, these centers perform pre-work activities. Pre-work is a time for setting aims, allocating resources, and preparing baseline data leading to the first 2-day learning session.

There are three learning sessions; each session is followed by an action period. During these periods, the health centers complete Plan-Do-Study-Act (PDSA) cycles:

  • Action period 1 is to adapt and test the ideas for an improved system of care.
  • Action period 2 is to further develop the system of care at the pilot site: Focus on implementation and sustaining; planning for spread.
  • Action period 3 is to continue with implementation: Focus on sustaining and spread.

At the conclusion is a national congress. Supports are: E-mail, conference calls, assessment tools, senior leader reports, site visits, and LISTSERV™.

Source: Adapted from: Figure 2, Breakthrough Series Model. In: The Breakthrough Series: IHI's Collaborative Model for Achieving Breakthrough Improvement. Institute for Healthcare Improvement; 2003.

Return to Document

Page last reviewed September 2007
Internet Citation: Figure 1: Learning Model: Asthma Health Disparities Collaborative Coalition Guide. September 2007. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, Rockville, MD.