Table 8_1_3-2

2010 National Healthcare Quality and Disparities Reports

The National Healthcare Quality Report (NHQR) is a comprehensive national overview of quality of health care in the United States. It is organized around four dimensions of quality of care: effectiveness, patient safety, timeliness, and patient centeredness.

Table 8_1_3.2
Immunization-preventable influenza admissions per 100,000 population,a age 65 and over, by race/ethnicity, United States, 2007
    Non-HispanicHispanic, all races
Population groupRateSERateSERateSERateSERateSE
85 and over41.32.744.
Median income of patient's ZIP CodeFirst quartile (lowest income)23.81.325.01.619.12.2DSUDSU21.03.9
Second quartile16.
Third quartile19.71.319.81.318.13.417.
Fourth quartile (highest income)23.12.422.92.524.66.320.43.914.13.2
Location of patient residenceLarge central metropolitan15.01.413.11.417.52.717.
Large fringe metropolitan23.32.823.
Medium metropolitan15.
Small metropolitan23.
Micropolitan (nonmetropolitan)25.92.426.12.523.75.6DSUDSUDSUDSU
Noncore (nonmetropolitan)34.92.734.42.843.69.6DSUDSUDSUDSU
Region of inpatient treatmentNortheast21.

aExcludes transfers from other institutions.� Rates are adjusted by age and gender using the total U.S. population for 2000 as the standard population; when reporting is by age, the adjustment is by gender only; when reporting is by gender, the adjustment is by age only.

DSU - Data do not meet the criteria for statistical reliability, data quality, or confidentiality.

Key: API: Asian or Pacific Islander; SE: standard error.

Source: Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), Center for Delivery, Organization, and Markets, Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project, State Inpatient Databases, disparities analysis file, 2007, and AHRQ Quality Indicators, version 3.1. The analysis file is designed to provide national estimates on disparities using weighted records from a sample of hospitals from the following 26 States: Arkansas, Arizona, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Kansas, Massachusetts, Maryland, Michigan, Missouri, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Oklahoma, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Vermont, Wisconsin, and Wyoming.


Page last reviewed October 2014
Internet Citation: Table 8_1_3-2: 2010 National Healthcare Quality and Disparities Reports. October 2014. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, Rockville, MD.