The John M. Eisenberg Excellence in Mentorship Award

Each year at the AHRQ National Research and Service Award (NRSA) Trainee Research conference, an award is presented in honor of Dr. John M. Eisenberg, who served as AHRQ Director from 1997–2002. An international leader in quality improvement, Dr. Eisenberg dedicated his professional career to the conduct and use of evidence-based research in health care decisionmaking at the policy, practice, and management levels. Dr. Eisenberg was also one of the strongest advocates of support for health services research training and career development, instrumental in the initiation of many of our current training programs, and a dedicated mentor. To honor his legacy, the John M. Eisenberg Excellence in Mentorship Award has been presented annually since 2001 to an outstanding faculty member in a NRSA institutional training program, supported by AHRQ. AHRQ fellows/trainees nominate faculty members for this prestigious award addressing the following individual characteristics:

  • Leads by example and demonstrates integrity.
  • Has seasoned experience in the field of health services research, health policy, and/or primary care research and willing to share skills, knowledge, and expertise with others.
  • Creates opportunities and opens doors for students.
  • Provides guidance and constructive feedback.
  • Inspires others and serves as a role model in leadership and professionalism.
  • Is a developer of talents and sponsor for students in the academic/professional community.

Recipients of the award are announced and honored at AHRQ's annual NRSA Trainee Research Conference. Past recipients of this award include the following:

  • Albert W. Wu, MD, MPH, Johns Hopkins University (2019).
  • Jane L. Holl, MD, MPH, Northwestern University (2018).
  • Stephen M. Shortell, PhD, MPH, MBA, University of California, Berkeley (2017).
  • Patrick S. Romano, MD, MPH, University of California, Davis, and Kathleen C. Thomas, PhD, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill (2016).
  • James Burgess, PhD, Boston University (2015).
  • David Meltzer, MD, PhD, University of Chicago (2014).
  • Vincent Mor, PhD, Brown University (2013).
  • Patricia Danzon, PhD, University of Pennsylvania (2012).
  • Ogedegbe Olugbenga, MD, MPH, New York University (2011).
  • John Zupancic, MD, ScD, Children's Hospital, Boston (2010).
  • Maureen Smith, MD, PhD, University of Wisconsin, Madison (2009).
  • Alyce Adams, PhD, Harvard University (2008).
  • Mark Pauly, PhD, University of Pennsylvania (2007).
  • Robert Blendon, ScD, MBA, Harvard University (2006).
  • Morris Weinberger, PhD, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill (2005).
  • David Cutler, PhD, Harvard University (2004).
  • Richard Frank, PhD, Harvard University, and Anne K. Duggan, ScD, Johns Hopkins University (2003).
  • Timothy Carey, MD, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill (2002).
  • John M. Eisenberg, MD, MBA, AHRQ (2001).

For more information, contact:

Shelley M. Benjamin, M.S.W.
Division of Research Education
Office of Extramural Research, Education and Priority Populations
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
Phone: (301) 427-1528

Page last reviewed June 2019
Page originally created July 2010
Internet Citation: The John M. Eisenberg Excellence in Mentorship Award. Content last reviewed June 2019. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, Rockville, MD.
Back To Top