Research Training: Institutional Health Services Research Training Programs (T32s)

AHRQ funds 18 institutions which recruit and train predoctoral and/or postdoctoral health services researchers. Details on characteristics of these programs and their self-identified areas of research interest are included.

The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) provides support to 18 U.S. academic institutions through the National Research Service Award (NRSA) grant program that offer advanced training to students with a strong interest in careers in health services research.

The Program

AHRQ provides support through the National Research Service Award (NRSA) grant program to institutions to develop health services research training opportunities. These institutions in turn provide stipends and partial tuition coverage for predoctoral and postdoctoral students for periods of 1 to 5 years.

Curriculum requirements, educational approaches, content specialization, and length of support may vary by institution.

All programs combine a mix of coursework with topical and career-development seminars, mentoring, and hands-on research experience.

NRSA Program Eligibility

Specific institutional requirements vary, but minimal requirements include the following:


Applicants for National Research Service Award fellowships must, at the time of award, be citizens of the United States, non-citizen nationals, or non-citizens who have been lawfully admitted to the United States for permanent residence and have in their possession an Alien Registration Receipt Card I-551 or I-151 or other legal verification of such status. Individuals on temporary or student visas are ineligible.

Educational Requirements

Predoctoral Students must have earned a baccalaureate degree.

Postdoctoral Students must possess a Ph.D., M.D., D.D.S., Sc.D., Dr.P.H., D.Pharm., or equivalent doctoral degree. Support is not provided for education leading to an M.D., D.O., D.D.S., D.M.D., or equivalent health professional degree for residency training.

How to Apply

For complete information, contact the institution directly.

Additional Information

Details on characteristics of the programs and their individual self-identified areas of research interest are included, along with contact information for each program and links to the institution's own Web site. Select from the list below.

  1. University of Alabama at Birmingham (predoctoral and postdoctoral).
  2. Boston Medical Center (predoctoral and postdoctoral).
  3. Brandeis University (predoctoral).
  4. Brown University (predoctoral and postdoctoral).
  5. University of California, Berkeley (predoctoral).
  6. University of California, Davis (postdoctoral).
  7. University of California at Los Angeles (predoctoral and postdoctoral).
  8. University of Chicago (predoctoral and postdoctoral).
  9. Weill Cornell Medical College (postdoctoral).
  10. Harvard University (predoctoral).
  11. Harvard Pediatric Health Services Research Fellowship (postdoctoral).
  12. Johns Hopkins University (predoctoral).
  13. University of Michigan (predoctoral and postdoctoral).
  14. University of Minnesota (predoctoral).
  15. University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (predoctoral and postdoctoral).
  16. Northwestern University (postdoctoral).
  17. University of Washington (predoctoral).
  18. Yale University (predoctoral and postdoctoral).
Page last reviewed October 2014
Page originally created August 2009
Internet Citation: Research Training: Institutional Health Services Research Training Programs (T32s). Content last reviewed October 2014. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, Rockville, MD.
Back To Top