Slide 20

National Strategy for Quality Improvement in Health Care

Text version of slide presentation from a National Advisory Council meeting.

The Interagency Working Group was established to ensure alignment and coordination of quality efforts


Text Description is below the image.

Background: The Interagency Working Group on Health Care Quality (IWG) was established by the ACA [Affordable Care Act] to share information among relevant Agencies regarding quality initiatives as a means to ensure alignment and coordination across Federal efforts and with the private sector.

Structure: The IWG will be chaired by the Secretary of Health and Human Services. Members of the IWG, other than the Secretary of Health and Human Services, will serve as Vice Chair on a rotating basis. Members will include senior-level representatives from 24 Federal Agencies.

Meetings: The IWG shall meet at least tri-annually and may convene more frequently at discretion of the Chair. IWG members may designate ad-hoc Sub-Working Groups, based on expertise, function, or other criteria, on an as-needed basis.


  • Department of Health and Human Services (Chair)
  • Administration for Children and Families
  • Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
  • Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
  • Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services
  • Consumer Products Safety Commission
  • Department of Commerce
  • Department of Defense
  • Department of Education
  • Department of Labor
  • Department of Veterans Affairs
  • Federal Bureau of Prisons
  • Federal Trade Commission
  • Food and Drug Administration
  • Health Resources and Services Administration
  • National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
  • National Institutes of Health
  • Office of Management and Budget
  • Office of the National Coordinator for Health Information Technology
  • Social Security Administration
  • Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration
  • United States Coast Guard
  • United States Office of Personnel Management
  • Veterans Health Administration

* Representatives to the Work Group will be designated by each of the above Assistant Secretaries and Agency heads.

Previous Slide         Contents         Next Slide

Page last reviewed October 2014
Page originally created September 2012
Internet Citation: Slide 20. Content last reviewed October 2014. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, Rockville, MD.