Slide 6. Levels of Prevention

Presentation describes the methods used by the US Preventive Services Task Force to develop recommendations.

Levels of Prevention

  • Primary Prevention
    • Avoidance/prevention of disease or injury (inclusive of mental health).
      • Immunizations.
  • Secondary Prevention
    • Early detection and treatment.
      • Mammography.
  • Tertiary Prevention
    • Reduction of disability and prompt rehabilitation.
    • Management of existing conditions.
      • End-stage renal failure.

Previous Slide         Contents         Next Slide

Page last reviewed October 2014
Page originally created September 2012
Internet Citation: Slide 6. Levels of Prevention. Content last reviewed October 2014. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, Rockville, MD.