Improving Patient Safety Systems for Patients With Limited English Proficiency

Figure 5. Overview of Medical Interpreter Standards of Practice

Medical Interpreter Standards of Practice
International Medical Interpreters Association (IMIA) Standards of Practice—Adopted 1995 National Council on Interpreting in Health Care (NCICH) Standards of Practice—Released 2005
Organized by three major areas:
  • Interpretation
  • Cultural Interface
  • Ethical Behavior

Can be used for:

  • Guideposts in the development of training and educational programs
  • Evaluation tool
  • Preparation of health care providers to work with interpreters
  • Foundation for a certificate examination
Organized by nine major areas:
  • Accuracy
  • Confidentiality
  • Impartiality
  • Respect
  • Cultural Awareness
  • Role Boundaries
  • Professionalism
  • Professional Development
  • Advocacy

Can be used for:

  • Hiring
  • Performance monitoring
  • Discussion on certification of professional competence
Page last reviewed September 2012
Page originally created September 2012
Internet Citation: Figure 5. Overview of Medical Interpreter Standards of Practice. Content last reviewed September 2012. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, Rockville, MD.