Other HHS Agencies

Information about other U.S. Department of Health & Human Services (HHS) Agencies.

The U.S. Department of Health and Human Services' programs are administered by 10 principal HHS operating divisions in addition to the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ). In addition to the services they deliver, the HHS programs provide for equitable treatment of beneficiaries nationwide, and they enable the collection of national health and other data.

Key Support Offices

Office of the Secretary (OS)

Program Support Center (PSC)

Operating Divisions

Administration for Children and Families (ACF)

Administration for Community Living

Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ATSDR)

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), formerly the Health Care Financing Administration (HCFA)

Food and Drug Administration (FDA)

Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA)

Indian Health Service (IHS)

National Institutes of Health (NIH)

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA)

The Social Security Administration (SSA) became an independent agency on March 31, 1995.

Page last reviewed March 2018
Page originally created August 2012
Internet Citation: Other HHS Agencies. Content last reviewed March 2018. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, Rockville, MD. https://www.ahrq.gov/cpi/about/hhs-agencies/index.html