National Advisory Council for Healthcare Research and Quality

The National Advisory Council for Healthcare Research and Quality provides advice and recommendations to AHRQ's director and to the Secretary of the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) on priorities for a national health services research agenda.

Overview | Meetings | Members | NAC Coordinators


The 19-member panel is comprised of private-sector experts who contribute a varied perspective on the health care system and the most important questions that AHRQ's research should address in order to promote improvements in the quality, outcomes, and cost-effectiveness of clinical practice. The private-sector members represent health care plans, providers, purchasers, consumers, and researchers.

Also serving in an ex-officio capacity are principal representatives of seven Federal agencies that address health care system issues: The National Institutes of Health (NIH); the Department of Defense (Health Affairs) (DoD); the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC); the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA); the Office of Personnel Management (OPM); the Food and Drug Administration (FDA); the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS, formerly the Health Care Financing Administration [HCFA]); and the Assistant Secretary for Health.

Private-sector members are appointed by the Secretary, HHS, to serve 3-year terms. A list of current members follows. Biographies are available by selecting the member's name.

For more details about the Council, please visit the Council Charter Documents.

Top of Page


Council meetings are open to the public. Please check the Federal Register Notice of Public Meeting to confirm meeting times and location.

Review meeting minutes from 2015 to the present.

Top of Page


Donald A. Goldmann
Donald A. Goldmann, M.D. (Chair) (2019)

Chief Scientific Officer, Emeritus, and Senior Fellow
Institute for Healthcare Improvement
Clinical Professor of Pediatrics
Harvard Medical School
Professor of Immunology and Infectious Diseases,and Epidemiology
Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health
50 State Street, 19th Floor
Boston, MA 02109
Phone: (617) 301-4800
Gregory L. Alexander 
Gregory L. Alexander, Ph.D., R.N., FAAN, FACMI (2021)

Professor, Associate Dean for Research
Sinclair School of Nursing
University of Missouri
S415 School of Nursing
Columbia, MO 65211
Phone: (573) 882-9346
Karen Amstutz
Karen S. Amstutz, M.D., M.B.A. (2020)
Healthcare Consultant
Stutz & Company
7603 North Pennsylvania Street
Indianapolis, IN 46240
Phone: (317) 730-7736
Cathy Bradley
Cathy J. Bradley, Ph.D., M.P.A. (2020)
Associate Director, Population Health Sciences
Associate Dean, Colorado School of Public Health
University of Colorado Cancer Center, MS-434
13001 East 17th Place
Aurora, CO 80045
Phone: (303) 724-9526
Sheila Burke
Sheila P. Burke, M.P.A., R.N., FAAN (2019)
Faculty, Kennedy School of Government
Harvard University
Chair, Government Relations and Public Policy Group
Strategic Advisor, Baker, Donelson, Bearman, Caldwell and Berkowitz
901 K Street, N.W., Suite 900
Washington, DC 20001
Phone: (202) 508-3457
Beth Ann Daugherty
Beth Ann Daugherty, M.P.H., R.N. (2020)
Vice President of Patient Care Services and Chief Nurse Officer
Sparrow Clinton Hospital
805 South Oakland Street
St. Johns, MI 48879
Phone: (989) 227-3400
Peter J. Embí 
Peter J. Embí, M.D., M.S., FACP, FACMI (2021)
President and Chief Executive Officer
Regenstrief Institute
1101 West 10th Street
Indianapolis, IN 46202
Phone: (317) 274-9094
Barbara Fain
Barbara A. Fain, J.D., M.P.P. (2019)
Executive Director
Betsy Lehman Center for Patient Safety
501 Boylston Street, 5th Floor
Boston, MA 02116
Phone: (617) 701-8172
Christine A. Goeschel 
Christine A. Goeschel, Sc.D., M.P.A., M.P.S., R.N., FAAN (2021)
Assistant Vice President, MedStar Institute for Quality and Safety
Director, Center for Improving Diagnosis in Healthcare
MedStar Health
3007 Tilden Street, NW, Suite 5N
Washington, DC 20008
Phone: (202) 364-6219
Rahul Gupta 
Rahul Gupta, M.D., M.P.H., M.B.A., FACP (2021)
Senior Vice President and Chief Medical and Health Officer
March of Dimes
1550 Crystal Drive, Suite 1300
Arlington, VA 22202
Phone: (571) 257-2321
Tina Hernandez-Boussard
Tina M. Hernandez-Boussard, Ph.D., M.P.H., M.S. (2020)
Associate Professor of Medicine, Biomedical Data Science, and Surgery
Stanford University School of Medicine
1265 Welch Road
Stanford, CA 94305-5479
Phone: (650) 725-5507
Charles N. Kahn 
* Charles N. Kahn III, M.P.H. (2020)
President and Chief Executive Officer
Federation of American Hospitals
750 9th Street, NW, Suite 600
Washington, DC 20001-4524
Phone: (202) 624-1534
George Kerwin 
George Kerwin, M.B.A. (2019)
President and Chief Executive Officer (Retired)
Bellin Health
1102 South Monroe Avenue
Green Bay, WI 54301
Andrew Masica
Andrew L. Masica, M.D., M.S.C.I., S.F.H.M. (2020)
Vice President and Chief Clinical Effectiveness Officer
Baylor Scott & White Health
8080 North Central Expressway, Suite 500, LB 81
Dallas, TX 75206
Phone: (214) 265-3624
Sally C. Morton
Sally C. Morton, Ph.D., M.Sc., M.S. (2019)
Dean, College of Science
Professor of Statistics
Virginia Tech
North End Center, Suite 4300
300 Turner Street, NW
Blacksburg, VA 24061
Phone: (540) 231-5422
Jerry Penso
Jerry L. Penso, M.D., M.B.A. (2019)
President and Chief Executive Officer
American Medical Group Association
One Prince Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone: (730) 838-0033
Edmondo J. Robinson 
Edmondo J. Robinson, M.D., M.B.A., M.S. (2021)
Chief Transformation Officer
Senior Vice President, Consumerism
Senior Vice President and Executive Director
Christiana Care-Wilmington
Wilmington Hospital Administration
501 West 14th Street, Suite 1N01
Wilmington, DE 19801
Phone: (302) 320-4625
William Shrank
William H. Shrank, M.D., M.S.H.S. (2020)
Chief Medical Officer
500 West Main Street, 6th Floor
Louisville, KY 40202
Phone: (502) 580-1133
Yanling Yu 
Yanling Yu, Ph.D. (2019)
Washington Advocates for Patient Safety
3941 NE 158th Lane
Seattle, WA 98155
Phone: (206) 543-1254

* Member is serving in a representative capacity.

Top of Page 

NAC Coordinators

Gopal Khanna, M.B.A.
Phone: (301) 427-1200

Jaime Zimmerman, MPH, PMP
Designated Management Official
Phone: (301) 427-1456

Karen Brooks, CMP
NAC Coordinator
Phone: (301) 427-1801

Top of Page

Page last reviewed July 2019
Page originally created August 2012
Internet Citation: National Advisory Council for Healthcare Research and Quality. Content last reviewed July 2019. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, Rockville, MD.
Back To Top