AHRQ Publishing and Communications Guidelines

Appendix 2-B. Accessibility and the Revised 508 Standards

Section 508 of the Rehabilitation Act requires Federal agencies and contractors to make information and communications technology accessible to people with disabilities, ensuring equivalent access of both the public and employees to content and systems.  Information and communications technology covers a broad range of categories and products, including websites, documents and media, social media sites, computers, applications, software, and office equipment.

Revised 508 Standards

In 2018, the revised 508 standards became effective. The standards now:

  • Incorporate Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) 2.0, an international standard.
  • Address cognitive, language, and learning disabilities.
  • Are organized by functionality, not product type.
  • Include operating systems and authoring systems.
  • Require software and operating systems to interoperate with assistive technologies, such as screen magnification and refreshable Braille displays.

The revised standards adopt WCAG 2.0 at Levels A and AA for websites, electronic content, tools, and apps.


For more information, contact:

Biff LeVee
OC Web Quality Assurance Coordinator

Return to Section Contents
Return to Guidelines Contents
Proceed to Next Section

Page last reviewed June 2019
Page originally created April 2009
Internet Citation: Appendix 2-B. Accessibility and the Revised 508 Standards. Content last reviewed June 2019. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, Rockville, MD. https://www.ahrq.gov/research/publications/pubcomguide/pcguide2apb.html
Back To Top